Short Stories

Here lie I Timon

I was passing the graveyard… one of the most lonely places I had ever been to..It had the same old air about it as we read in books and similar to what we see in movies…Time suddenly started to  flow very slowly as I found myself amidst a thousand memories.. threatening to drown me. I could remember myself in that play yard holding a dying a friend.. But his tiny body wasn’t buried here.. He wasn’t here to call my name again…He was gone and had left my memories bruised to the extent that I still bleed..

Was she here too? My flesh my blood torn apart from me before I could barely have the loved feeling? But ah her grave was lost soon after she was buried… She was gone and wiped away from the world’s memories as if she never existed… She wasn’t here to call my name…

Was he here too? A man who loved me more than seven fathers? Was he here to see his child was bruised? Was he here to tell me he still listened to my cries deep in the night and that he still remembered that I loved him more than mum? Will he stop me and tell me I’ll be alright? Will he hear if I say I love him? Will he call my name and hold me back?

Now I pictured that white beard and that white dress… I could hear the old man teaching me the Holy Book…. I could hear him teaching me basics of a human being… I could see him reading books through his thick glasses… He was the same man who walked across the hall on his old legs to see his grand-daughter’s sprained ankle in the epic netball match..It was against his nature to love and care for girls but ah I had always been special…Was he here too? Was his pure soul waiting for his grand daughter to come at his grave? Would he call me and ask me about his books? I would tell him they were safe I would tell him I loved him… something I never had the guts to say…

Were my dead uncles here too? The same who came at our place at every festival and brought me so much stuff? Was my grandma here too? The same who used to stand in cold scolding me to wear my cardigan…?

I closed my eyes and they were dry I felt my heart it was steady… I dragged myself away from the buzz of these memories, there was no one to call me back, For this graveyard had long been silent…

I had gone far. I had reached the end of the my world. I was done with lies. I was done with games. The world I lived in will not let me stay happy. And the ones who would’ve cared, won’t call anymore. So far away now… I started digging my own grave. It was about time

7 thoughts on “Here lie I Timon”

  1. They dont leave us they never do. Just gone behind the veil for a short time. And they do call us. How else we move on? They matter whether they exist or whether they are living or not does not matter. They are the reason we try

  2. This is a beautiful tribute! … a memory that will stick forever. I admire your courage to face dark emotions! and write about in such a way that you captivate your reader’s mind without making them feel pity or sorry for you. You tell them here is what I feel, but I don’t let it destroy me, but inspire me to appreciate life more; that is a determination—right there—in face of adversity.

    May allah rest their souls in peace! Their spirits are with you, so don’t you feel alone! :) Thank you for sharing!

  3. ahhh a great site after visitiing this site my memories go back and i remember that how fast time is passing away on us ………….My Father, Friends even Relative where are they even no one calls their name……………BE prepare for your destiny

Leave a Reply

