Incidents

Life lessons

I am merging two lessons and two great people I know in this post.. So naturally it will be a long one. Patience… Aye =P

Number 1 : Mom and the lesson of payback

Well. Me and Mom.. we were having dinner. Regular stuff. I was just nibbling a piece of meat ( My apologies to the vegetarians.. Sire bear with me) and the piece just fell from my hand all the way down the bed. I tried to search for it.. but all in vain. I told mom that just lemme finish the food then I’ll pick it..
But HELL!!
Mom gave me a ten minutes lecture on responsibility and hygiene and etiquettes and carelessness and blahblahblahblah : I had to crawl all the way down the dusty place and retrieve the bone.
Then my mom exhaled and we went back to food
After exactly two minutes.. A piece of bread slipped from mom’s hand and landed directly where mine did. And yeah. I chuckled

Mom looked up at the piece (as I coughed out all the dust after my second trip down there) and she smiled a secretive smile and said ” Look honey, Lord paid me back in less than a moment, This is His greatest blessing when he makes us know our mistakes and corrects us sooner… And it’s a great curse when he lets us… be”
That means.. You won’t holler at me now will ya?
And she just scowled… Thinking that none of the words had penetrated my thick skull. Neva mind

I think about that thing all the time.. Sure Lord loves Mom more but hey..He loves me too! Whenever I ask him to save me from all the stuff.. Hey Lord make me know about the good and the bad.. He always answers .. I used to be afraid once.. praying for this but when I did.. he replied..And according to Mom.. it is a blessing and HE… he blessed me.. He took a notice of ME!!!! Well yeah Imma kid and you can’t change me so stop rolling your eyes

Number 2 : Uncle K and the lesson of the dying world

Well it would be interesting if I call him Uncle X but I hate algebra and X reminds me of that chemical that led to the birth of powerpuff girls.. so I guess.. K will do

And yes. I am in air

I remember saying it before… you give me a good conversation and a genuine company… I’ll give you a great time, a great acquaintance and maybe a great friend…

It’s not about friendship now. My Uncle K just left. And I am in love with this man. He is so so so great. I respect him from the core of my heart. Whenever he comes at our place I start bouncing. Literally speaking I start glowing. He is so… so… nice….

He came by to check some stuff and fix them with his supernatural mechanic wisdom. He used to be in Army once. And he never ever reprimands me for asking questions.. he is the only person who actually knows the answer to every question I ask. He just opens a device or a machine and I bombard him with every question I can think of. Hey Uncle this weird wire.. what’s it for? Hey Uncle this is a a Capacitor right? And he shows me his complicated instruments and I exclaim just like a stupid kid. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

He talks so freely.. none of the Uncles I know do so.. I mean he is like Dad’s brother from a certain angle. He comes along, talks about old days with Dad and Grandpa and talks so genuinely that I actually feel that he has no problem of me being around!

I stand out at wedding because yeah.. I am a bit simple.. so naturally I am visible. lol. But the fact is that the more simple and reserved you are the more people respect you. I mean I can feel the warmth in their eyes as they see me all so simple and well cool
It’s a tradition or what that we greet the elders on weddings and festivals or whenever we meet them.. I love jumping towards Uncle and seeing his warm eyes say.. She’s a nice girl

So.. today he was talking and taught me a lot. He talked about small petty stuff yet each and every word was dripping with wisdom. He is one of the very few elders I spend my time with. He’s a heart patient.. Defective Valves. Who knows how long will he live. But I will remember him forever. He is the symbol of the old world. These people aren’t there anymore. The love the care the selflessness.. It’s long gone. The concern in his voice about the family and friends… It somehow reminded me a line from King Lear.. ha I so truly understand it.. it takes a lot to be where all these people are , I can never see what these old eyes see.. I can never understand what these minds.. after scores of hardships and struggle.. can perceive… and yes. One thing he said was about the hearts changing. The souls rotting. Ironic but I believe that definitions of our basics have been exploited to a pitiful extent.. and I am not any different…

I am so lucky I met so many wise people. I wish I could be like them. But it will take a long journey.. A long one indeed….

The woods are lovely, dark and deep, 
But I have promises to keep, 
And miles to go before I sleep, 
And miles to go before I sleep….

2 thoughts on “Life lessons”

Leave a Reply

