Short Stories

Voices in the darkness, scream away

“Fear is a distressing negative sensation induced by a perceived threat. It is a basic survival mechanism occurring in response to a specific stimulus, such as pain or the threat of danger. In short, fear is the ability to recognize danger and flee from it or confront it. Fear is related to the specific behaviours of escape and avoidance, whereas anxiety is the result of threats which are perceived to be uncontrollable or unavoidable. Worth noting is that fear almost always relates to future events, such as worsening of a situation, or continuation of a situation that is unacceptable. Fear could also be an instant reaction to something presently happening.”

 

‘Sis’
‘Sis
‘What’
‘I am getting scared, may I come in your room?’
‘What.. Scared? (Yawn) Shut up and sleep’
‘Sis. Please. Let me in’
‘Alright, it is past midnight for Heaven’s sake’
‘Na, not yet. May I slip in your quilt?
‘Bring your own’
‘I AIN’T GOING BACK’
 

Her voice was heavy and coarse with fear. My half-sleep mind responded to the scared sound and I moved aside. She snuggled in and wrapped herself around me. She was so cold. Boy she was terrified.

‘It is ok my pie, I am here ok, Now sleep alright? Nothing is gonna happen. Be a big girl’

She gave a big coarse sniff. I hugged her tighter. My poor girl.

‘What’s the matter?’
‘He is here. Sis that monster you talk about”
‘Haha that is my monster he won’t hurt you, plus I never knew you took my bedtime stories so seriously’
‘I.. I don’t know. He is here. He is here. Can’t you feel him?’
 

I woke up. My brain snapped active at those words. Something was wrong. My body was reacting to something. She hugged me even tight, as if I would run away any second. But now it was only my own fear. My own dread clutching my heart. It was as if someone had constricted my windpipes and was crushing it. I took deep breaths. I had lost my Amulet today. I swallowed. It was as if I had been running a long way and suddenly the earth had vanished and that feeling was setting my heart and body on fire..I am going to fall

I looked into the hall from my open door, hoping to call ma sleeping there. There were three people in my house today

Due to the diffused light coming from the porch… I could see two of them 

 

6 thoughts on “Voices in the darkness, scream away”

  1. you again forgot to post precautions along with this blog ,
    ohhh boy i was lucky as if i read it in day time , otherwise my saturday night would have been ruined :P

Leave a Reply

