Poems

Robert Frost. Him again and always

I have mood swings; we all do… I saw winds whooshing past and the wind chilling my hands as I sat and a poem came again in my mind, came and went.. Just like the gust of warm winds that used to come in the sunny days.. Came and went. Came and went..

Now close the windows and hush all the fields
If the trees must, let them silently toss;
No bird is singing now, and if there is,
Be it my loss.
 
It will be long ere the marshes resume,
I will be long ere the earliest bird:
So close the windows and not hear the wind,
But see all wind-stirred
 

But yes.. I am not going to explain the meaning and the context and all we do in our papers with our pens.. Some feelings are best just felt.. unsaid and untainted.. Or maybe this is one big excuse for feelings we dare not confess. Or maybe we never have the actual words. So, clad in excuses or reasons, if you may, I can just give you one other poem

I have wished a bird would fly away,
And not sing by my house all day;
 
Have clapped my hands at him from the door
When it seemed as if I could bear no more.
 
The fault must partly have been in me.
The bird was not to blame for his key.
 
And of course there must be something wrong
In wanting to silence any song.
 
 

And I smile the most sad smile of them all….. =)

(Poem 1: Now close all the windows. Poem 2: A Minor Bird)

2 thoughts on “Robert Frost. Him again and always”

  1. I really liked this post Haibar, and I agree sometimes it’s best not to explain or make excuses for your writing, it is what it is and this was beautiful…

Leave a Reply

