Medicine: Year 1

First sub stage !!!

Guys and girls and grandpas! Medicine is fun!

Even for hopeless cases like me. Ahem. No one else is entitled to say that arright…

So let me relate the day of my first sub stage at my college. Now wait a sec, what is all this sub stage crap?

Oh its a darn big viva. Anatomy. Three sub stages and then a stage on each part of the body. We choose a portion (we don’t, the Professors do) cram all we can about it. Dissect cadavers aka dead bodies. Peel and cut and do nasty things. Pick up bones and start extracting the souls outta them. Cry the whole night before the sub stage because it has been moved from 24th to 22nd. Curse the acting Head of Anatomy department. Ask Allah for a kind examiner to ask us questions. Make all your friends who are not in Medicine crazy because THIS IS YOUR FIRST SUB STAGE

Then the day came.

I dressed in brown.. the colour I am most attuned to. Blurted best of luck to my mates, esp my room mate who had burned my ears whining about her prep. Got in the bus. Went into the college, searched my roll number and the designated Doctor. Roll number was called. I went in. Answered to who was perhaps the most polite teacher in the world. And took my report card back. And screamed when I saw it because OLA! I HAD PASSED!

Came out, faced a bunch of girls and guys who said KIA HUA?? (what happened?) I said Mut pucho mera damag hil gaya he.. but pass ho gai! (don’t ask my brain’s gone tweet.. but I passed!) and they all gulped as I shuffled off, taking my cell out and texting my friend. Boy I had rotten his ears for a long time. My room mate passed with distinction, and we had damn fun calling her Dr. Theta all day long.

Then I called my mom and as I was doing so my best friend came from the DH (Dissection Hall) calling home. We both blurted KIA HUA? And both said PASS! and then said Kitney number? (marks?) and both screamed 27!!! 

Boy that has to go in my golden memories list with her

And one other being the time we played That Awkward Moment in Embryology.

Story coming up soon!

8 thoughts on “First sub stage !!!”

  1. Way to go girl! Awesome one :D. The substage sure was one hell of an experience, walking past cut up limbs as if that is the most normal thing in the world. And the viva to the teacher dressed up for Halloween :P. Put up the embryology post, what are you waiting for?

  2. Cadaver … such a word! :) When I was reading Cutting for Stone, I saw it and I was like what the heck is this word? lol … YOU HAVE TO READ THAT BOOK! I cant scream enough ;]

    Am so happy for you, Haib! =) I know you can do well on all the sub stages! … and what an excellent way to celebrate your achievement! Such an awesome entry! A healer you are, indeed, not just medically speaking, but with your words as well. And as someone said, the pen is mightier than the sword … so keep writing, keep excelling in school! You can do both! =)

  3. Wow! I thought for a minute you were going to describe in detail dissecting a cadaver….and I (of the faint-hearted) was ready to bolt! But you took a different tack! I loved your story….AND the end! Congratulations on passing! I love your sense of humor…..keep it up! You are a great writer!

Leave a Reply

