Incidents

Monster by the door

Haunted mansion

Ever since I have been home, I seep during the day and am up and running at night. There are plenty of reasons for that. A lot. But one of them has to be the peace and privacy. I like to be left alone. I like to eat alone, I like to read alone, I like to watch tv alone. I like being left to myself doing everything in a my own queer patterns. I don’t get that during the day. People come out then

It’s not that strange when monsters of our past chase us around. The moment I switch lights on to this huge hall at my Uncle’s / now our place, I have this feeling of a monster lurking around. There’s a reason I don’t watch horror movies, you never know what gets imprinted in your imagination and follows you from there on. It’s totally my imagination I know. But those five seconds before turning the lights on I am mentally preparing myself for the reaction. And the scenarios differ everyday in my head

Sometimes I think what if it comes in a flash, an inch closer to my face and disappears before the light fully spreads. Just in time for me to see those red lips widen and see that foul flashing smile. I will surely scream. And scream a lot. The entire family will run from the neighbouring houses and I’ll just keep screaming “I saw, I saw something, God, there was someone here”, etc etc. But then I don’t know, my reactions are very different when the moment of crises comes in real. But I don’t see myself fainting

I will commit suicide if that ever happened

Sometimes I think what if, when I switch the lights on, it is already sitting on the sofa I sit every night. What if it has slung its shoulders in that lazy fashion over the wooden back and slowly raises its head up as I stand there, thunderstruck and numb with fear. And says something. Sometimes I think the voice will be raspy. Sometimes I picture it smooth and velvety

Sometimes I think what if, I am sitting peacefully, watching a sitcom over the laptop perched in front of me, same hall, same sofa, way into the night, a cloaked figure enters from the backrooms where nobody lives now. I go still at the sound of thick fabric rustling in near distance and it comes forth, and sits right by me. It’s head cocked in a mocking manner, eyebrow pinched up and that wicked smile etched again

cloaked

And tonight.. as I walk to switch the lights on once again. In my head, I see it standing by the door of the drawing-room. Midway, not coming in, not going back. A reluctant figure. He raises his head slowly and dejectedly. Looks me straight in the eye. And goes back. I don’t scream, I don’t faint. I don’t scream. I remove my hands from the row of switches and turn back to my room

I’d like to sleep tonight

lying in the forest

6 thoughts on “Monster by the door”

  1. Wouldn’t it be better if there were no light switches at all? What if it were always dark? What then? Would we still be afraid of what hid in the darkness? Or would be simply become part of it?

    1. Reminds of a snippet I wrote once, on darkness of the tunnels but.. I guess, maybe flashes of light will be the horror then

      But then the hidden always hold a scare about them

Leave a Reply

